克服牙科護理的挑戰

包括牙刷在內的一系列衛生用品

殘疾兒童的牙科護理可能會給有特殊醫療保健需求的兒童和青少年帶來額外的挑戰。

刷牙和使用牙線

口腔護理教學可能會帶來額外的挑戰。如需協助以簡單的語言、影片等方式解釋口腔護理的重要性,您可以在 Cavity Free SF 網站上找到更多重要資訊: http://www.cavityfreesf.org/

在孩子能夠自己刷牙之前,他們必須讓照顧者幫他們刷牙。在他們學習的同時,他們需要護理人員每天檢查他們的刷牙和使用牙線的情況,直到他們獨立成功。有一些專門的工具可以幫助解決運動和感官挑戰。

牙科訪問

對於有感官障礙或理解能力不夠充分合作的兒童來說,去看牙醫可能是危險、可怕或太困難的。請不要推遲牙科護理,因為有一些選擇可以為有需要的人提供幫助。延遲牙科護理可能會導致額外的疼痛和費用。

兒科牙醫

兒童牙醫態度溫和,會花額外的時間解釋發生的情況,並讓孩子感受到這些工具是有幫助的。獎品、獎勵、讚美和額外支持有助於緩解焦慮和獲得合作。

專業牙醫

有些孩子無法接受一般牙科診所的治療,可能需要專業牙醫進行常規牙科預約。專業牙醫可能擁有特殊設備,可以幫助需要更高水準支援的患者更輕鬆地進行預約。有專門的工具可以幫助患者保持正確的姿勢,以實現護理、舒適和安全。

誰可能需要鎮靜牙科?

對於尚不具備根據需要進行合作的能力的患者,鎮靜牙科可能是必要的。例如,如果患者無法配合注射奴佛卡因、拔牙或保持不動進行 X 光檢查。對於年幼、有行為挑戰、感官敏感和認知遲緩的兒童來說,這是一個問題。

有些患者可能有資格參加 Medi-Cal

認知或發育遲緩的患者可能是區域中心的客戶。許多區域中心客戶即使根據收入可能不符合 Medi-Cal 資格,也有資格獲得 Medi-Cal,因為對於符合資格準則的發展障礙人士有特殊的 Medi-Cal 豁免。 按此處了解有關 DD 豁免的更多信息。這很重要,因為鎮靜牙科可能非常昂貴,並且常規牙科保險可能不承保。您的區域中心社工必須是根據發展障礙豁免啟動 Medi-Cal 保險的人。 Medi-Cal 透過 Denti-Cal 提供牙科護理保險。

在家庭支援部門,我們可以幫助您申請 Medi-Cal

如果您需要協助了解您的孩子是否有資格獲得 Medi-Cal 和/或區域中心服務,家庭支援可以與您一起實現這一點。我們還可以幫助您完成申請的所有步驟。 如果您對我們提供的任何服務感興趣 尋求幫助。

舊金山周圍接受 Medi-Cal/Denti-Cal 的牙醫

為了幫助您尋找牙醫,以下是 2024 年舊金山地區接受 Denti-Cal 保險的牙醫名單。該列表提供於 English, 西班牙語繁體中文.

研究告訴我們什麼

(是的,對於某些人來說,獲得牙科護理要困難得多)

要對 I/DD 族群獲得牙科護理的挑戰進行更深入和基於研究的探索,包括護理等待時間長、歧視、訪問受限以及可能過度依賴鎮靜牙科,請點擊此處: 聞所未聞的聲音:揭示 I/DD 族群被忽視的牙科護理挑戰

Overcoming Challenges with Dental Care

An array of hygiene items including toothbrush

Dental care for children with disabilities can pose extra challenges for children and youth with special health care needs.

Toothbrushing and Flossing

Teaching oral care can bring extra challenges. For help with explaining the importance of Oral care in simple language, videos, and more you can find more great information on the Cavity Free SF website at http://www.cavityfreesf.org/

Until children can brush their own teeth, they must have a caregiver do it for them. While they are learning, they need a caregiver to check their brushing and flossing daily until they are independently successful. There are specialized tools that can help with motor and sensory challenges.

Dental visits

For children with sensory challenges, or who cannot understand well enough to fully cooperate, visits to the dentist can be dangerous, scary, or just too difficult. Please do not put off dental care because there are options that can help, for those who need it. Delaying dental care can lead to extra pain and costs.

Pediatric Dentists

A pediatric dentist who is gentle and takes extra time to explain what is happening, and allows the child to feel the tools can be helpful. Prizes, rewards, praise, and extra support can be helpful in soothing anxiety and gaining cooperation.

Specialized Dentists

Some children can’t be accommodated in a general dentistry practice and may require a specialized dentist for routine dental appointments. A specialized dentist may have special equipment to help make appointments easier for their patients who need a higher level of support. There are specialized tools that can help the patient maintain the proper positioning for care, comfort and safety.

Who might need Sedated Dentistry?

Sedated Dentistry can be necessary for patients who do not yet possess the ability to cooperate as needed. For example, if the patient is unable to cooperate with getting a novocaine shot or having a tooth pulled or holding still for x-Rays. This is an issue with children who are young, those with behavior challenges, sensory sensitivities, and cognitive delays.

Some patients might qualify for Medi-Cal

Patients with cognitive or developmental delays may be regional center clients. Many regional center clients qualify for Medi-Cal even when they might not qualify based on income because there is a special Medi-Cal waiver for people with developmental disabilities who meet eligibility guidelines. Click here to learn more about DD waivers. This is important because sedated dentistry can be very expensive and might not be covered by regular dental insurance. Your regional center social worker must be the one to initiate Medi-Cal coverage under the Developmental Disability waiver. Medi-Cal provides dental care coverage through Denti-Cal.

At Support for Families, we can help you with applying for Medi-Cal

If you would like help understanding if your child may qualify for Medi-Cal and/or regional center services Support for Families can do that with you. We can also help you get through all the steps of your application. Please contact us for help.

Dentists who accept Medi-Cal/Denti-Cal around San Francisco

To assist you with finding a dentist, here is a 2024 list of dentists in the San Francisco Area who accept Denti-Cal insurance. This list is provided in English, Spanish and Chinese.

What Research Shows Us

(yes, it is significantly harder for some to get dental care)

For a more in-depth and research-based exploration of the challenges of accessing dental care for I/DD Populations, including long wait times for care, discrimination, restricted access, and perhaps an over-reliance on sedation dentistry, click here: Unheard Voices: Shedding Light on the Overlooked Dental Care Challenges of I/DD Populations