舊金山聯合學區閱讀教學方式即將改變

SFUSD 已聘請以下服務: 核心學習 為我們的教師和領導者提供專業發展,以了解閱讀研究,有時被稱為「閱讀科學」。這種夥伴關係旨在有效地教導所有學生閱讀和建立可持續的課程實施知識和系統,以提供持久的改變,同時確保我們看到提高學生成功的影響。

這將如何改變我們教導閱讀的方式?

核心學習正在幫助我們的學區調整我們的閱讀教學,使其與閱讀科學保持一致。閱讀科學是指來自多個學科的證據,最終表明在學習閱讀時需要在語音意識、語音、流暢性、詞彙和理解方面進行明確的指導。研究表明,95% 的學生可以學習達到或接近年級水平的閱讀能力。

由於我們的學生以前可能沒有在所有這些領域遇到明確的指導,因此我們不應該將任何閱讀不熟練的學生視為閱讀困難的學生。相反,核心學習將他們視為尚未完成學習的學生。這與我們學區的成長心態非常匹配,也是感受我們學區閱讀教學方式變化的好方法。 

要了解所有這些重要領域的明確閱讀指導在課堂上可能會是什麼樣子,請 按此處查看範例課程計劃。您還想閱讀 閱讀核心學習科學家長指南.

想像一下影響!

SFUSD 擁有出色且敬業的教師,他們每天努力工作,並且非常關心學生的成功。儘管如此,與加州和全國的許多學區一樣,我們的英語語言藝術能力分數(52% 精通三年級)表明我們仍在努力教導所有學生閱讀。

與所有 SFUSD 學生一樣,擁有 IEP 和 504 計畫的學生預計會因為我們閱讀教學方式即將發生的轉變而提高他們的閱讀能力。想像一下,如果我們 95% 的學生能夠達到或接近年級水平的閱讀能力(研究表明這是可以實現的),將會帶來怎樣的影響!

Changes in how we teach reading are coming to SFUSD

SFUSD has engaged the services of Core Learning to provide professional development to our teachers and leaders to understand the reading research, sometimes referred to as the “Science of Reading”.  This partnership aims to effectively teach ALL students to read and build sustainable curriculum implementation knowledge and systems to provide lasting change, all while ensuring we see the impact in improved student success.

How will this change how we teach reading?

Core Learning is helping our district pivot our reading instruction to align with the Science of Reading.  Science of Reading refers to evidence from multiple disciplines conclusively showing the need for explicit instruction in phonological awareness, phonics, fluency, vocabulary, and comprehension when learning to read. Research indicates 95% of students can be taught to read at or approaching grade level.

Since our students may not have encountered explicit instruction in all of these areas previously, we should not view any student who is not reading proficiently as a struggling reader.  Instead, Core Learning views them as students with unfinished learning. This is a great match to the growth mindset of our district and a great way to feel about this change in how we teach reading in our district. 

For an idea of what explicit reading instruction in all these important areas might look like in a classroom, please click here for an example lesson plan.   You will also want to read the Core Learning Science of Reading Parent Guide.

Imagine the impact!

SFUSD has amazing and dedicated teachers who work hard every day and care deeply about our students’ success. Despite this, and like many school districts across California and the nation, our English Language Arts proficiency scores (52% proficient in 3rd grade) show we have still struggled with teaching ALL students to read.

Students with IEPs and 504 plans, like all SFUSD students, are expected to improve their reading proficiency due to the coming shifts in how we teach reading. Imagine the impact if 95% of our students could read at or near grade level, as research indicates is achievable!